The N.F.L. issued a statement Tuesday morning declaring the Packers-Seahawks game result final and supporting the decisions of its replay-booth referees, who did not overturn the controversial call of a game-winning touchdown for the Seahawks.
The league’s statement details the course of events and the replay decision, concluding that all rules were followed properly. It noted that an offensive pass interference penalty should have been called on Seattle’s Golden Tate, who caught the touchdown pass. That would have ended the game and given Green Bay the victory.
The statement did not clearly take a position on whether the officials on the field made the correct call in ruling that Tate had caught the ball, rather than Green Bay’s M.D. Jennings. It did state that under the “rule for simultaneous catch, the ball belongs to Tate, the offensive player.”
There's much more to this story from The New York Times, to read about it CLICK HERE.
To read the official NFL statement issued on Tuesday morning, CLICK HERE.